

AGENDA

THE KENT - THANET LOCAL BOARD

Tuesday, 15 March 2011, at Minster
Village Hall, High Street, Minster CT12
4BUAsk for:Anne Charman,
Community
Engagement
ManagerStarting at 7.00 pm. Doors open at 6:30
pmTelephone:01622 696389

- 1. Welcome to the meeting Mr Bill Hayton, Chairman
 - Apologies
 - Introductions
 - Declarations of Interests by Members in Items on the Agenda for this Meeting.
- 2. Notes of Local Board meeting held on 25 January 2011 and progress on any actions agreed

3. Kent Youth County Council / Thanet Youth Council

Kent Youth County Council and Thanet Youth Council members will provide a brief update on the recent work they have undertaken and the local issues in Thanet that matter to them.

4. KCC Budget 2011/12 – John Simmonds, KCC Cabinet Member for Finance

John Simmonds will go through the details of the county council's spending plans for the 2011-2013 period. Mr Simmonds will describe how, through an innovative programme of change, KCC will keep council tax frozen next year, deliver savings of £95 million in 2011/12 and continue to invest in an ambitious and exciting capital programme over the next three years totalling £763 million.

5. Closure of Pfizer - Paul Carter, Leader, Kent County Council

Paul Carter has been asked by the Government to lead a Sandwich Economic Development Task Force, in partnership with Pfizer and the Local Enterprise Partnership, to explore innovative ways to find a secure and sustainable future for the Pfizer site. Mr Carter will talk about the work currently taking place to ensure there is minimal impact on the local area and the people who are affected.

6. East Kent Access Road update – Toby Howe, KCC Highway Manager, East Kent

Toby Howe will provide a progress report on the East Kent Access Road.

- 7. Grant recommendations Local Schemes Grant Tranche 2 2010/11 Recommendations of the board to be announced.
- 8. Opportunity to ask questions about local public services

9. Any Other Business notified to the Chairman prior to the meeting.

County Councillors for Electoral Divisions within the Thanet District:

Bill Hayton (Chairman) Robert Bayford Robert Burgess Elizabeth Green Charles Hibberd Michael Jarvis John Kirby Chris Wells

- Broadstairs & Sir Moses Montefiore;
- Broadstairs & Sir Moses Montefiore;
- Margate West;
- Ramsgate;
- Birchington and Villages;
- Margate & Cliftonville;
- Ramsgate;
- Margate & Cliftonville;